[fsn_row][fsn_column width=”12″][fsn_text]

Stieg Larsson was born on 15th August 1954, as Karl Stig-Erland Larsson. He lived in Sweden and was the editor-in-chief of the magazine Expo and a leading expert on anti-democratic, right-wing extremist and Nazi organizations.

His father and maternal grandfather worked in the Rönnskärsverken smelting plant. Suffering from arsenic poisoning, his father resigned from his job, and the family subsequently moved to Stockholm. Due to their cramped living conditions there, they chose to let their one-year-old son Stieg remain behind with his grandparents until he was 9 years old.

On his 12th birthday, Larsson’s parents gave him a typewriter. His first efforts at writing fiction were science fiction. He published a few short stories, while submitting others to other semi-professional or amateur magazines. He was co-editor or editor of several science fiction fanzines.

He died in 2004 of a heart attack, shortly after delivering the manuscripts for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire, and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. Further part manuscripts have since been published.

His long-term partner Eva Gabrielsson has no legal right to his inheritance as they never married, because under Swedish law, couples entering into marriage were required to make their addresses (at the time) publicly available, so marrying would have created a security risk due to his reporting on extremist groups and the death threats he had received. This has sparked controversy between her and his father and brother who were his next of kin who will inherit Larsson’s estate as well as future royalties from book sales etc.

Millennium Series

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – February 2008.

Awarded the Glass Key Award as the best Nordic crime novel in 2005.

Forty years ago, Harriet Vanger disappeared from a family gathering on the island owned and inhabited by the powerful Vanger clan. Her body was never found, yet her uncle is convinced it was murder and that the killer is a member of his own tightly knit but dysfunctional family.

He employs disgraced financial journalist Mikael Blomkvist and the tattooed, truculent computer hacker Lisbeth Salander to investigate. When the pair link Harriet’s disappearance to a number of grotesque murders from forty years ago, they begin to unravel a dark and appalling family history, but the Vangers are a secretive clan and Blomkvist and Salander are about to find out just how far they are prepared to go to protect themselves.

The Girl Who Played with Fire – January 2009
Received the Best Swedish Crime Novel Award in 2006.

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest – October 2009

The Girl in the Spider’s Web – August 2015

The Girl Who Takes an Eye For An Eye – September 2017
Lisbeth Salander is an unstoppable force. Sentenced to two months in Flodberga women’s prison for saving a young boy’s life by any means necessary, Salander refuses to say anything in her own defence. She has more important things on her mind.

Mikael Blomkvist makes the long trip to visit every week and receives a lead to follow for his pains. For him, it looks to be an important expose for Millennium. For her, it could unlock the facts of her childhood. Even from a corrupt prison system run largely by the inmates, Salander will stand up for what she believes in, whatever the cost. She will seek the truth that is somehow connected with her childhood memory, of a woman with a blazing birthmark on her neck that looked as if it had been burned by a dragon’s fire.

The Swedish film production company Yellow Bird has produced film versions of the Millennium Series, co-produced with the Danish film production company Nordisk Film, which were released in Scandinavia in 2009.