Our December competition was played on Monday 3rd December at Camposol Club de Golf.  Camposol is our usual December venue and on this occasion the format was a ‘two ball better ball’ in which 40 members took part.

The day started off with a bacon roll and tea or coffee for all players, followed by the competition and ended with a hot tapas meal. The conditions could not have been better, with a clear blue sky, temperatures in the 20’s and high expectations of a good day out on the course.

An extremely rare event, witnessed by four young men of exceptional integrity, honour and endowed with hawk-eyed vision, occurred on the 17th. Young Neil MacFarlane drove off from the 17th Tee with an excellent shot which landed well down the fairway. His second shot, of 120 metres, a mere bagatelle for this young man, was meant to land on the green, but it fell short and dropped into the ravine. Neil played his third shot approximately 50 metres short of the bridge. How did that happen? Simply because his second shot rebounded 60 metres after hitting the rocks adjacent to the bridge over the ravine!

Memorial Trophy Winners 2018. Tony Pickworth (pictured) & Ian Robinson

Les Dryden, our Captain for 2018 unfortunately passed away in August after a short illness. Therefore, it was decided to inaugurate a Memorial Trophy, not just in memory of Les, but in memory of all members of Los Amigos Golf Society and present it to the annual competition winners. Our grateful thanks to Diane Dryden who kindly presented the Memorial Trophy.

Arthur Anthoney & Keith Collins with Les Jales


1st place -Tony Pickworth and Ian Robinson with 37 points (on countback).

2nd place – Gareth Buckland and Fred Harvey with 37 points.

3rd place -Keith Collins and Arthur Anthoney with 35 points.

Nearest the Pin:

Hole 3 – Keith Collins at 4 metres.

Hole 5 – Tony Pickworth at 4.6 metres.

Hole 11 – No winner

Hole 13 – Les Jales at 2.37 metres.

An excellent carvery meal was enjoyed by all at our Presentation Evening in the Restaurant of Camposol Club de Golf. Our sincere thanks to the restaurant staff for all their help throughout the year.

The Committee would also like to take this opportunity of thanking Fred & Brenda Harvey, Keith & Jean Collins and latterly, John & Anita Girvan, Marshall & Donna Shields and Sue Harding for all their help in making the Monthly Raffles so successful. Well done to you all.