La Vuelta

14th August – 

5th September

The Tour of Spain will start in Burgos instead of the usual Madrid and will end on 5th September in Santiago de Compostela.The route will go from one cathedral to another in a loop that offers a new ‘Camino de Santiago’ which will be the inauguration of a new route – The Cyclists’ Path.

The first 8km of the 3336.1km will be an urban individual time trial within the city of Burgos. The route will revolve around its cathedral, the locality’s most emblematic monument, which celebrates its 8th centenary this year. The two following stages will be held within the Province of Burgos, with a finale in the district of La Gamonal and another at Picón Blanco, the first unprecedented high-altitude finale of La Vuelta 21.

The peloton will travel East, with stops in the provinces of Soria, Guadalajara, Cuenca, Albacete, Valencia and Alicante; the latter leading to a new climb; the Balcón de Alicante.

Heading further South, the race will hold a finish-line in the Region of Murcia, marking the end of the first week of competing at the renowned Alto de Velefique, in Almería.

Following the first rest day, the race will resume at Roquetas de Mar and will slowly travel through Andalusia. The provinces of Málaga, Jaén and Córdoba will see the peloton ride past before returning to Extremadura for the first time since 2013.

The provinces of Badajoz and Cáceres will host two departures and two finish-lines. Pico Villuercas is an extremely tough unprecedented La Vuelta climb that stands out for its spectacular nature. Just before the next rest day, Avila will mark the end of the second week with a finish-line at the historic town of El Barraco, the birthplace of some of the best Spanish cyclists in history.

The riders will have a rest before the final stretch of the race that promises to thrill spectators.  Cantabria will hold a stage entirely within the autonomous community, before giving way to the Lagos de Covadongaclimb. The Principality of Asturias wants to become the centre of La Vuelta 21, by linking the mythical climb with a stage that will face a brand-new mountain pass, theAltu d’El Gamoniteiru.

The race will resume in Galicia with a finish-line in Monforte de Lemos and a stage held entirely within the Province of Pontevedra that will delight Classics specialists.

Coruña is the province chosen to host the final stage of La Vuelta 21. The final time trial will bein Santiago de Compostela with a departure from Padrón. 

1st stage – August 14th: Burgos – Burgos/8km. (CRI)

2nd stage – August 15th: Caleruega – Burgos (Gamonal)/169.5km.

3rd stage – August 16th: Santo Domingo de Silos – Picón Blanco/203km.

4th stage – August 17th: Burgo de Osma – Molina de Aragón/163.6km.

5th stage – August 18th: Tarancón – Albacete/184.4 Km.

6th stage – August 19th: Requena – Alto Montaña de Cullera/159km.

7th stage – August 20th: Gandía – Balcón de Alicante/152km.

8th stage – August 21st: Santa Pola – Manga del Mar Menor/163.3km.

9th stage – August 22nd: Puerto Lumbreras – Alto de Velefique/187.8km.

August 23rd: Rest Day

10th stage – August 24th: Roquetas de Mar – Rincón de la Victoria/160.2km.

11th – August 25th: Antequera – Valdepeñas de Jaén/131.6km.

12th stage – August 26th: Jaén – Córdoba/166.7km.

13th stage – August 27th: Belmez – Villanueva de la Serena/197.2km.

14th stage – August 28th: Don Benito – Pico Villuercas/159.7km.

15th stage – August 29th: Navalmoral de la Mata – El Barraco/193.4km.

August 30th: Rest day

16th stage – August 31st: Laredo – Santa Cruz de Bezana/170.8km.

17th stage – September 1st: Unquera – Lagos de Covadonga/181.6km.

18th stage – September 2nd: Salas – Alto Gamoniteiro/159.2km.

19th stage – September 3rd: Tapia – Monforte de Lemos/ 87.8km.

20th stage – September 4th: Sanxenxo – Mos/173.6km.

21st stage – September 5th: Padrón – Santiago de Compostela/33.7km