Club de Golf Championships 2020

These took place at Camposol Golf Club over two rounds on 23rd September and 1st October. This is the first time we have held the club championships over 36 holes and it proved an intriguing and compelling challenge for those that took part.

Hayley Barker Ladies Champion

It’s with great pleasure that we announce our new ladies’ club champion as Hayley Barker and the men’s club champion as Dave Hopkins. Congratulations to you both for putting two good rounds together over both days and very well played!

With prizes for the best scores for each round, nearest the pins, longest drives on both days and of course, the club championships, there was plenty for everyone to play for, even if they weren’t in contention for the overall title.

Round One 23/9/2020

54 players teed it up, we had a Hole in One! and good scoring in calm conditions with all to play for in the second round!
Three best scores of the day:
1st – Dave Hopkins – 36 points CB
2nd – Pete Evans – 36 points
3rd- Bob Lawrenson – 35 points CB just edging out Hayley Barker

Nearest the Pin Winners:

Dave Hopkins Men’s Champion

Hole 3 – Colin Reid
Hole 5 – Dave Barker
Hole 11 – Roy Ashcroft
Hole 13 – Dave Noakes – Hole in One
Ladies’ Longest Drive – Pam Andrew
Men’s Longest Drive – Ian Butters

Overall championship standings after round one:

1st – Hayley Barker – 35 points
2nd – Debbie Murray – 30 points
3rd – Paqui Martinez – 30 points
4th – Mary Armitage – 30 points

1st – Dave Hopkins – 36 points
2nd – Pete Evans – 36 points
3rd – Bob Lawrenson – 35 points
4th – Dennis Jones – 34 points
Round Two 1/10/2020

45 Players teed off for the second round with leaders going out last. Unfortunately one of the leading contenders, Bob Lawrenson, had to withdraw due to injury the day before. Get back playing soon Bob! Cool and calm conditions again provided an ideal opportunity for good scoring. Who would cope with the nerves best?

Three best scores of the day:
1st – Martin Lewis – 41 points
2nd – Dave Hopkins – 35 points
3rd – Dave Plant – 34 points
Nearest the Pin Winners:
Hole 3 – Dave Hopkins
Hole 5 – Ken Halley
Hole 11 – Neil Smith
Hole 13 – Colin Reid
Ladies’ Longest Drive -Debbie Murray
Men’s Longest Drive – Paco Belchi
Ladies’ Club Champion – Hayley Barker with 65 points (35 and 30) with Debbie Murray Runner-Up with 63 points (30 and 33)
Men’s Club Champion – Dave Hopkins with 71 points (36 and 35) with Martin Lewis Runner-Up with 69 points (28 and 41).

Congratulations to Hayley and Dave for being worthy club champions and also congratulations to Dave Noakes for his Hole in One and all the other prize winners. We hope everyone who took part enjoyed competing in this year’s championships. Who will join the growing list of club champions next year?

The Golf Club Committee

CGA Men’s Wednesday Group
On 14th October in lovely sunny weather conditions, the Men’s Wednesday Group played a 4 Ball Betterball Stableford Competition. There was a 3 way tie on 43 points.

1st – Des Watts/Keith Halliwell – 43 points
Runners-up Dave Freer/Eugene Toye – 43 points
3rd – Clive Porter/Gordon Neilson – 43 points

Eugene Toye Men’s Competition’s Secretary
CGA Away Day

This was held on 23rd October at Roda. Members were looking forward to tackling this tricky course again. Report next month.
Take care and stay safe.

Betty Roberts