Club de Golf January Competition

All the 53 golfers who turned up on Tuesday 25th January feared the worst from a weather perspective. Their decision to play was rewarded with an almost totally dry day albeit a little on the cold side.


1st – Debbie Murray – 38 points winning on C/B.   2nd – Paqui Martinez – 38 points 2nd C/B. 3rd – Ian Butters – 37 points,   4th – Glenn Elliott – 34 points   5th – Eugene Toye – 33 points winning on count back.

Nearest The Pin Prizes

3rd Hole – Rob Greatly,   5th Hole – Finn Neilson,   8th Hole in 2 – Steve Gill,   11th Hole – Gordon Neilson,   13th Hole – Alan Hebblethwaite

Club de Golf Presentation Dinner

Thanks to all that attended the presentation dinner on Wednesday the 19th, hopefully you all enjoyed the evening. The evening was an opportunity to recognise our 2021 Champions and also gave us the chance to thank outgoing 2021 Captain Keith Halliwell for a great year and welcome the new Captain, Peter Evans along with his committee Alison Vasey, Dave Spooner, Alistair Rae and Brian Arnold.

The winners and runners up on the night were:-

Ladies Singles KO – Winner – Hayley Barker Runner Up – Pam Andrew

Mens Singles KO – Winner – Gary Lovejoy Runner Up – Eugene Toye

Ladies Doubles KO – Winners – Henrietta Reckweg & Alison Vasey Runners Up – Veronica Porter & Hayley Barker

Colin Reid Club Champion
Colin Reid Club Champion

Mens Doubles KO – Winners – Dennis Jones & Neil Smith Runners Up – Paco Belchi & Jeronimo Lopez

Mixed Doubles KO – Winners – Debbie & John Murray Runners Up – Paqui Martinez & Jeronimo Lopez

Mens Club Champion – Colin Reid

Ladies Club Champion – Debbie Murray

Congratulations and well done to all of our winners and losing finalists.


The Clubhouse Committee

Men’s Wednesday Group Competition

On the 9th February 32 players took to the course on a cold, brisk but dry morning, with the course still in good condition and at the moment greens are very quick. The format for the day was 2 scores from 4. 

Debbie Murray Ladies Champion
Debbie Murray Ladies Champion

The results for the day are as follows

1st    G. Lovejoy, N Dilley, M Lewis, E Toye. 90 points

2nd   D Lewis, D Freer, J Venables, I Butters. 87 points

3rd   T Andrew, G Allen, N Morgan, D Hopkins. 87 points

There were three 2s M. Lewis, D Freer, T Andrew.

Eugene Toye Men’s Competition Secretary

The Camposol Golf Association A.G.M.

This took place on 9th February, to decide if the C.G.A. should cease its operations.  It was pointed out that even with the prevailing restrictions over 70 people attended the C.G.A. Dinner Dance in September 2021, which everybody enjoyed and in November the Association held a Charity Quiz where €960 was raised for the 3 Charities they support. A vote was taken in Any Other Business where there was a unanimous decision for the C.G.A. to continue. As nobody wanted to serve on a new Committee the present Committee stated they were prepared to stay on for a further year which was enthusiastically received.

Betty Roberts